And now for something completely different

April 5, 2008

Ok, so if you’re like me, you have a repertoire of certain tried and true chicken recipes you have in your bag of tricks.  But I’d like you to try a new one I know you’ve never had before.  Intrigued?  This recipe is basically a marinated baked chicken, but it’s truly a unique marinade I’ve never tasted outside of my friend’s home.  Doron, my Israeli artist friend and eponymous creator of said chicken recipe, graciously gave me his recipe years ago.  He was thrilled to hear that my children love Doron chicken and give a loud cheer whenever I make it.  This recipe requires some planning – it’s best marinated overnight, and even better frozen in the marinade and baked at a later time.  It’s also a very inexpensive dish – this usually costs me under $5.

DORON CHICKEN

3 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil

2-3 Tbs. soy sauce

1/4 C. half and half (you can substitute milk, but it just doesn’t taste as good)

1 Tbs. real maple syrup (or brown sugar)

1 tsp. Dijon mustard

1/2 tsp. liquid smoke

2 cloves minced garlic

salt and pepper to taste

4 chicken leg quarters (or breasts, or a mix of both), skin on (or off for those who don’t like their chicken swimming in fat)

Combine first 8 ingredients in a bowl, whisking well.  Place in a zip-lock gallon baggie along with the chicken.  Place in refrigerator over night, turning the bag over periodically.

Cover and bake in a preheated oven at 325 degrees for one hour.  Uncover and continue to bake for 20 minutes more.  Serve with cous cous or rice (Make sure to pour the yummy sauce on the cous cous!)  This is especially delicious as leftovers served over a big salad the next day.

2 Responses to “And now for something completely different”


  1. Mmm, that sounds good! I am always looking for different things to do with chicken. Thanks!

    Nice blog BTW! I will be checking back!

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I have a package of chicken leg quarters in my freezer and I think I’m going to try this recipe – it sounds really good!!


Leave a Reply

