What to bring to your next covered dish event: Bulgar Salad

June 11, 2008

Colorful and delicious bulgar salad

It’s that time of year – barbecues, cookouts, and block parties –  and you need to bring some sort of side dish.  Here’s a wonderful salad that keeps very well and is just delicious with anything cooked on the grill.  The sweet currants offer a nice balance to the scallions and the crunch of the walnuts complements the soft texture of the bulgar.

 

Bulgar Salad

2 ¼ C. water

1 C. bulgar

1 medium green pepper, chopped

1 medium red pepper, chopped

1 medium yellow pepper, chopped

½ C. sliced scallions

½ C. dried currants

1 C. cherry tomatoes, cut in half

¼ C. chopped fresh parsley

¼ C. chopped walnuts, toasted

¼ C. extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbs. white balsamic vinegar

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tsp. salt

freshly ground pepper

Bring water to boil in medium saucepan.  Add bulgar and simmer uncovered until tender and water is absorbed, about 10 minutes.  Allow to cool.  In a large bowl, combine sweet peppers, scallions, currants, cherry tomatoes, parsley and walnuts.

 Stir in cooked bulgar.  In a small mixing bowl, whisk olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic and salt.  I use white balsamic vinegar in practically anything that calls for balsamic vinegar – it’s not as astringent and keeps it light (in color).  Regular balsamic vinegar works well in this salad too.

 Pour over bulgar mixture and toss to combine.  Cover and chill for at least 4 hours.  Season with freshly ground pepper.

 

6 Responses to “What to bring to your next covered dish event: Bulgar Salad”

  1. ella Says:

    I have to say after reading the title, I wasn’t even going to let the picture load, but I’m so glad I did.
    That- looks- awesome.
    I’m re-aranging my ideas about bulgar!

  2. ella Says:

    OK me again. I made the salad and it was fantastic. Thanks!

  3. Steph Says:

    wow.. the salad looks amazing and I don’t usually like to eat salads. I think I’m going to substitute coucous for the bulgar, since I’ve been trying to find a recipe to get rid of all my coucous

  4. madcapCupcake Says:

    This salad looks incredible – I must make it!

  5. Bridget Says:

    Everyhing is just so wonderfully creative,beautiful, and so helpful. What a great idea.


  6. omg this salad looks the best!! look incredible ty!


Leave a Reply

