You can’t make a frittata without breaking some eggs

June 14, 2008

Easter eggs a few months late?  No, these eggs are naturally those colors.

 

My friend Emelia raises chickens in her backyard and was kind enough to give me a dozen eggs this week.  Free-range and organic, these eggs are not only delicious, but are almost too pretty to eat.  In pastel shades of pinks, blues and greens, they look like perfectly dyed Easter eggs.  I (almost) felt badly about cracking them open to make my frittata. 

I created this frittata recipe based on what was ready to eat from our garden (chives and peas) and what I already had in the fridge and pantry  (bacon, potato and parsley).  Frittatas are wonderful for lazy weekends or special breakfasts like Father’s Day.

Delicious sweet peas from our garden.

 

Frittata with Fresh Peas, Gruyère and Bacon

4 slices bacon, chopped

1 yukon gold potato, sliced in a mandolin ¼” thick

½ C. peas (fresh or frozen)

8 eggs

2 Tbs. heavy cream

2 Tbs. milk

1 C. grated Gruyère cheese

 ¼ C. chopped fresh chives

¼ C. chopped fresh parsley

salt and pepper to taste

 ¼ C. grated parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400° F.  Cook bacon in 12″ non-stick saute pan until crisp.  Remove and drain all but 2 Tbs. of fat.   Layer potato slices on same pan and cook on medium until cooked, about 10 minutes.    Meanwhile, whisk eggs, cream, milk, cheese, chives, parsley, salt and pepper in medium bowl.  

Sprinkle peas and bacon on top of cooked potatoes.  Pour egg mixture on top, sprinkle with parmesan and cook for 5 minutes.  Transfer to oven and bake for 10-15 minutes more, checking to see when the middle is set.  Let cool a bit and cut into six wedges. 

 

 Apparently, the smell of freshly grated Gruyère is enough to send my son into a paroxysm of revulsion.  He absolutely refused to eat the frittata (although he perked up when I made him a fried “Easter” egg.)

 

 Cooling the frittata allows the edges to pull away from the pan.

 

 Serve with a tossed salad and fresh crusty bread.

 

 

5 Responses to “You can’t make a frittata without breaking some eggs”

  1. Sharon Says:

    The frittatta looks delicious!
    The chickens must be Aracanas.
    My dad used to raise them and I think the eggs are supposed to be lower in cholesterol too.
    It’s a real treat to see them for the first time!

  2. Garrett Says:

    Delicious! I always love frittatas, they’re a great way to clean out the fridge. I’m very jealous of your home-grown sweet peas.

  3. smallnotebook Says:

    Thanks for reminding me to use chives! I need to take advantage of the ones in my herb garden. They’re so small and low-maintenance I almost forgot about them.


  4. That looks wonderful, but I really need to know what breed of chickens are laying those eggs!

  5. Y Says:

    What beautiful eggs. You’re right – almost seems a shame to crack them.


Leave a Reply

