Turkey Meatballs and Rigatoni

August 24, 2008

IMG_2859 by you.

I’ll admit it – I grew up eating spaghetti sauce from a jar.  This is to be expected from a first generation immigrant like my mother who thought Ragu was how spaghetti was supposed to be prepared (well, that along with kimchi.  Can I get a witness from my Korean-American peeps?)  I was set straight by my husband, who grew up eating macaroni and gravy prepared by his Italian family from the Bronx (that would be pasta and marinara sauce).

I’ve been making turkey meatballs even since I my son was born, trying to shed those baby pounds.  While low-cal substitutions usually mean a less tasty result, I truly feel these meatballs are just as tasty as ground beef meatballs.

Turkey Meatballs
(yields about 18 1½” meatballs)

1 1/3 lb. ground turkey
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic
1/2 C. breadcrumbs
1/4 C. grated parmesan cheese
1 egg
1 tsp. salt (or more to taste)
fresh ground pepper

IMG_2844 by you.

Puree onion and garlic in a mini-chopper or food processor.  Combine pureed onion, garlic, ground turkey, breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese, egg, salt and pepper in a medium bowl until well combined. 

IMG_2846 by you.

Roll mixture into 1½” balls.  Heat mium skillet on medium high and brown meatballs on all sides, about 3 minutes per side. 

 IMG_2849 by you.

Add to pot of hot marinara sauce (see below) and cook on medium low for 15-20 minutes.  Serve with pasta of your choice with grated parmesan cheese.

IMG_2857 by you.

Marinara Sauce

28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes
2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
2 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp. sugar
2-3 tsp. dried basil

Heat olive oil in a medium saucepan on medium high.  Add minced garlic and saute until golden.  Add can of crushed tomatoes, sugar and basil.  Mix and cook on medium low for 15-20 minutes. 

IMG_2865 by you.

11 Responses to “Turkey Meatballs and Rigatoni”

  1. Amrita Says:

    That is making me hungry for lunch. I’m putting this on my “what-to-make-for-dinner” list!

  2. Lori Says:

    I am sorry I didnt do your meme. TIme gat away from me. I came back to check how to do it and could not find it. While I was here I saw all your delicious looking food with amazing pics. Would love to have that bag of crabs.

  3. Deborah Says:

    I shouldn’t be looking at this before lunch – now my tummy is growling!

  4. Nate Says:

    Kochujang on spaghetti is da bomb!

  5. PaniniKathy Says:

    That dish looks so yummy! I think I’ll bookmark this one to make later this week. 🙂

  6. Mrs Ergül Says:

    Oh my I really have to give this a try! You sure makes it look really easy and simple! But I won’t be able to get my hands on ground turkey, so i will have to go with ground beef. Is there anything I should look out for for using beef instead? Thanks!

  7. onespicymama Says:

    Mrs Ergül Says:
    August 26, 2008 at 10:26 pm
    Oh my I really have to give this a try! You sure makes it look really easy and simple! But I won’t be able to get my hands on ground turkey, so i will have to go with ground beef. Is there anything I should look out for for using beef instead? Thanks!

    No, just more clogged arteries. 😛

  8. Angel Says:

    My kids would love this. Can same meatball recipe be used for ground bison? I usually have ground bison in the refrigerator.

  9. David Says:

    Angel:

    I haven’t tried this recipe with ground bison, but I have made bison meatballs. They are FAB-U-LUS!

    Peace

  10. Maritza Says:

    I’ve made this a couple of times, its fast and soo yummyy!!

  11. Kathryn Says:

    I made these for dinner tonight, and I must say they they are the best meatballs and marinara sauce I have ever eaten. I made a few changes to the marinara though, I added onion powder, a sprinkle of sage, and parsley, plus a dash of garlic powder for the extra garlic kick. It was INCREDIBLE


Leave a Reply

